Welcome to My Life

So, you wanna be a rock star, huh ?

The stage, the traveling, the lights, the cheer of the crowd, the parties…..

I did too, at one time ! LOL !

That’s what I wanted. At least that’s what I thought I wanted. I thought the best way to achieve my goal of stardom was to just sing my heart out and everything else would just happen. Well, to my surprise, it wasn’t that easy ! Then I thought that singing in a girl group would be the answer. Everyone can guess how that ended up ! My last brilliant idea to make it ‘BIG‘ was to be a background singer to the “STARS“. I figured that I would still be on the big stage, have the lights, get the applause, but with much less pressure. I quickly learned that being a background singer takes a lot of skills and experience and was much more challenging than I thought. You must maintain your stage appearance and voice, blend with other singers (vocals and attitude) and most importantly manage your health, just as if you were standing up front as a lead singer. Endurance is a MUST ! I had become content in the background and was willing to accept that as my position.

But then, I soon realized that it wasn’t about being a star. It wasn’t about the fame or fortune (although all that stuff is nice), it’s about the love of music, the push to be better, and working to the full potential that is within you. I never knew what I could really do or the fire that was deep inside of me until I met an amazing woman.

That small fire started burning in me when I met and worked with the late great Whitney Houston. You see, it had been a dream of mine to meet her and to work with her. I thought that would NEVER, EVER happen. In my travels of over a few years of background singing, I had met and worked with many great stars, but never her. She was such a SUPER STAR; seemingly a vision that was untouchable to me.

But when I did meet her, and not only meet her, WORK with her, it was unbelievable ! I still pinch myself when I think about this incredible experience ! Meeting her was probably the one wish that I thought would NEVER come true, but it did and……. WHOA !!!! My world changed ! Everything in me changed ! My thinking, my faith, my determination, and my drive to achieve my goals had just become amplified !

*photo taken November 2012

*photo taken November 2012

So, actually, this journey that I am on was planned; it didn’t just happen. I have been on course all along, with some victories and defeats. I understand the process and the journey now. I’ve learned so much from my previous experiences (good and terrible) and I’ve traveled the world as a background singer and loved every stage and every show !

Well, are you ready to jump on board and ride with me on this journey ? I want to share this exciting time and transition in my life with you. Some of my posts will be about everyday life; how I balance on and off the road. You’ll also see pictures and short videos. Some posts will be about what city or country I’m traveling to or in, and the AWESOME shows that I (we) are about to do. Some posts will even be about some great past experiences.

You ready ?

Welcome to Backstage with Beth ❤️

#Beth
#DaughterofaFunkBrother

 *Photo credit -  Wayne Norman  Fox Theater - Detroit, Michigan "What Christmas Means" Tour


*Photo credit – Wayne Norman
Fox Theater – Detroit, Michigan –  Kem’ s “What Christmas Means” Tour

6 thoughts on “Welcome to My Life

  1. Beth, what a beautiful reflection of your journey. You are and have always been a unique and worthy spirit. Your disposition, belief in God and attitude have allowed you to ascend to higher heights. I know you will obtain and even surpass every one of your dreams. You continue to be a blessing to me and others. Never stop letting your light shine. It’s so very beautiful! Love you sis! ~Poo

    Like

  2. I do not personally know you buy I am inspired by your journey and your honesty. I’m still trying to figure out how I want to begin sharing my gift in so later scale… But I’m encouraged after reading your blog that it will happen… Thank you.

    Like

Leave a comment